Deutschland - Dresden
~ Sachsens Hauptstadt an der Elbe ~
Sehenswürdigkeiten und Wissenswertes

anthem Germany

Bremen
Quedlinburg
Wernigerode
Leipzig
Dresden
Bayern /Mittenw.
München
English

Silhouette with Brühlsche Terraces, Albertinum, Frauenkirche, Hofkirche
                     Albertinum - Frauenkirche - Akademie der Künste                           Schloss -  Hofkirche

 Die schöne Stadt an der Elbe gehört durch den Reichtum seiner Kunst- und Kulturschätze sowie seine reizvolle Lage zu den schönsten Städten Europas. Schon seit 1425 war Dresden die Residenz von Fürsten und Königen. Im 2. Weltkrieg wurde Dresden während der 3 Tage währenden Bombenangriffe der anglo-amerikanischen Streitkräfte vom 13.-15. Febr. 1945 fast völlig zerstört und über 30.000 Menschen starben! Heute präsentiert sich Dresden nach jahrzehntelangem Wiederaufbau wieder in seinem alten Glanz. Eines der schönsten und jüngsten Beispiele internationaler Solidarität mit der schwergeprüften Stadt ist die originalgetreue Rekonstruktion der Dresdner Frauenkirche.

Die schönsten Bauwerke der barocken  Altstadt entstanden während der Regentschaft von August dem Starken (1694 -1733), der gleichzeitig auch König von Polen war. Er war ein großer Förderer der Künste und bereicherte die sächsische Schatzkammer um zahlreiche Kostbarkeiten. Etwa 3000 Werke aus dieser Sammlung sind im Grünen Gewölbe ausgestellt. Es ist die größte Sammlung dieser Art in Europa. König August der Starke starb in Polen, aber sein Herz ist in der Krypta der Hofkirche zu Dresden beigesetzt.


Dresden Zwinger KronentorEines der berühmtesten Gebäude und ein Muß, wenn Sie Dresden besuchen, ist der Zwinger (1711-22 von Pöppelmann erbaut). In seiner Architektur ist der Barockbau einem römischen Amphitheater nachempfunden. Der repräsentative Festplatz war für höfische Zwecke bestimmt und ist von Galerien und bezaubernden Pavillons umgeben. Heute sind im Zwinger wertvolle Kunstsammlungen zu besichtigen: eine der bedeutendsten Gemäldesammlungen der Welt im Gebäude der Sempergalerie (Nordsost-Flügel des Zwingers, erbaut 1847-1855 von G. Semper), die Porzellansammlung von August dem Starken, die Rüstkammer mit einer Sammlung historischer Waffen u.a.m.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt Ihres Aufenthaltes in Dresden sollte ein Besuch der Semperoper sein. Die Liste der Sehenswürdigkeiten ist lang.

Entdecken Sie Altstadt zu Fuß und genießen Sie das Flair und die Schönheit dieser zauberhaften Stadt; wandeln Sie im Schatten der Brühlschen Terrassen, stärken Sie sich in einer der zahlreichen historischen Gaststätten oder machen Sie einen Ausflug mit einem Schaufelrad-Fahrgastschiffe zu den zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten in der näheren Umgebung.

Stadtansichten


Dresden Semper Oper Dresden Zwinger Dresden Zwinger  - Nymphenbad
 Semperoper 1871-1878 Zwinger  Zwinger Nymphenbad

Dresden Akademie der Künste Dresden Hofkirche und Schloss Frauenkirche Dresden
Kunstakademie Hofkirche und Schloss
1738-54
Frauenkirche
1726-1743

home
Deutschland home


Tourismus in Dresden - Sehenswürdigkeiten

© 2000-2017 sights-and-culture.com contact us feedback
share

Germany map

Germany - Dresden


Saxony's capital at the Elbe river


Unesco World Heritage sites
Germany flag
Dresden skyline with Albertinum, Frauenkirche, acedemy of arts, castle, castle church

Deutsche Version The beautiful city at the Elbe river belongs through the wealth of its cultural and art treasures as well as its attractive situation to the prettiest cities of Europe. Dresden has been the residence of sovereigns and kings already since 1425 At the end of World War II Dresden was almost totally destroyed within 3 days fire-bombing 13.-15. February 1945 about 30.000 people died! Today the city of Dresden presents itself after decades of reconstruction in its old splendour again. The faithful reconstruction of the Frauenkirche (church of our Lady) is the most recent and most beautiful examples of international solid arity with the sorely tried city.

The most beautiful buildings of the baroque old town were created during the regency of August the Strong (1694 -1733), who was simultaneously also king of Poland. He was a great sponsor of the arts and enriched the saxon treasury with numerous precious objects. About 3000 works out of this collection are issued in the
green vault. It is the largest art collection of this type in Europe. King August the Strong died in Poland, but its heart is buried in the crypt of the cathedral of Dresden (former Hofkirche).

Dresden, Zwinger mit Blick auf das Kronentor One of the most famous buildings and a must if you visit Dresden, is the Zwinger (1711-22 built by Pöppelmann). In its architecture, the baroque building is modelled on a Roman amphitheater. The representative festival place was determined for courtly purposes and is surrounded by Gallerien and charming pavilions. Today the Zwinger hosts valuable art collections: one of the most important painting collections of the world in the building of the Semper Gallery (north east-wing of the Zwinger, build 1847-1855 by G. Semper), the china collection of August the Strong, the Rüstkammer with a collection of historic arms u. a. m.

Another highlight of your stay in Dresden should be a visit of the
Semper Opera House. The list of the sight is long....

Discover old town on foot and enjoy the Flair and the beauty of this enchanting city; have a rest in the shadow of
Brühl's Terraces, invigorate yourself in one of the numerous historic restaurants or enjoy a sail on board a paddle steamer to the numerous sights in the closer sourroundings. The Sächsische Dampfschiffahrt (Steam Railway Route Saxony) located at Dresden, operates the largest and oldest fleet of historic paddle steamers in the world! and provide you with a unique nostalgic experience!

Stadtansichten
Dresden Semperoper
Zwinger courtyard
Zwinger Nymph's Bath
Zwinger courtyard
Zwinger Nymph's Bath
academy of arts
cathedral and castle
Dresden, Frauemkirche
academy of arts
cathedral and castle


Tourism in Dresden - places of interest

© 2000-2022 sights-and-culture.com contact feeback disclaimer